SEO Site Make Over Day 3

I’m using a page from another site as a template to get started and there are some elements on the page that I haven’t modified or decided to get rid of yet, notably the two Google Adsense blocks, one is the square in the main content area and the other is labeled “more info” on the right side of the page. I will pull them off the main page but might keep them on some interior pages at the bottom of the page. Since this page and site is intended to sell party plans and perhaps other party related merchandise I don’t want people finding the page and then clicking a Google ad right away.

I’ve changed the CSS code to shrink the floating box and added a picture of a tea pot to add a graphic element to the page. Here’s the code I added:

div id=”google_inside_square”img src=”images/teapotnav.gif” alt=”princess-tea-party-tea-pot-image” width=”116″ height=”92″/div

Note I use an alternative description (alt tag) for the URL that points to the image to be displayed. Using the alt tag helps accessibility on the page and has the added bonus of being viewed by the search engines as valid content. While I am at it, I will change the image name to include some of the key words i.e. princess-tea-pot. See the modified code below:

div id=”google_inside_square”img src=”images/princess-tea-pot.gif” alt=”princess-tea-party-tea-pot-image” width=”116″ height=”92″>/div

I am now going to make a template of the new page to make the addition of new pages and conversion of old pages much quicker. A template allows me to control the look and feel of the whole site by making changes to one file while still allowing me to edit various regions on the pages to put in different information. I’ve set this template up with a number of editable regions, including the entire header section of the page so that I am able to put in keyword appropriate text in the title, description and keyword meta tags.

Toronto Search Engine Marketing

Toronto Search Engine Marketing

toronto SEO

~ by torontosearchenginemarketing on October 13, 2008.

Leave a comment